Were you or a loved one seriously injured in an accident and want to know how you can recover compensation? Here are a few tips for filing a personal injury claim in Arizona and how you can best protect your rights after an accident. If you have any questions, contact Swenson & Shelley Injury Attorneys today to schedule a free consultation.
Tips for Filing a Personal Injury Claim | What to Do Right After Your Accident
Immediately after the accident, it is not uncommon to be in shock. Your adrenaline levels are probably high, and you might not feel your injuries yet. Getting an officer on the scene is sometimes important to help with the collection of information if it is an auto accident. At every scene, there is going to be evidence that should be collected through photos and videos. At a slip and fall scene, there may be faulty steps that you fell on. At a dog bite scene, there may be a broken gate that the animal got through to attack you. Your scenario is bound to have evidence that you will want to collect. You will also need the contact information from any witnesses so that they can help you later on as well as the insurance information from the liable party.
Tips for Filing a Personal Injury Claim | Bringing Your Claim on Time
You must follow what is called the statute of limitations for your personal injury case. What that means is that you have a deadline in which you are allowed to bring your claim or settle it in civil court. Arizona permits two years from the date of the accident in which you can do these things. If you wait past this deadline, you will be barred from receiving compensation. It is always best to act quickly so that your evidence, witness testimony, and treatment plan is clear.
Tips for Filing a Personal Injury Claim | How to Get Full Compensation
Arizona is one of the more lenient states for receiving compensation even if you are found to be at fault for the accident. In fact, you can receive compensation when you are 99% at fault for the accident. How that works, though, is that your award will be reduced by the amount of fault you shared. For example, if you are awarded $100,000 in damages while being found 30% at fault, your award will be reduced to $70,000.
Call Our Office Today for a Free Consultation
If you are suffering from injuries due to someone else’s negligence, please do not hesitate to call our skilled and dedicated Arizona personal injury attorneys today to set up a free consultation. We will protect you from the insurance company and make sure you are on track to get the best possible result.